Election 97
 North Antrim

Old constituency North Antrim
Current MP Ian Paisley
DUP 92 23,152
UUP 92 8,216
SDLP 92 6,512
Alliance 92 3,442
Conservative 92 2,263
Sinn Fein 92 1,916
Elected party Democratic Unionist
North Antrim

Robert Waller writes

Almost entirely rural and very scenic - it contains the renowned Devil's Causeway - North Antrim has been in the stern grip of the DUP's Reverend Ian Paisley since 1970, when he won the seat from the Ulster Unionists. The seat is not uniformly Protestant - or uniformly DUP, but there is really no contest, and the brooding giant from Ballymena looks set to return to Westminster yet again.